Thankful

My heart is full. In my 40 and half years I have been given so much that sometimes it is hard to contain my Joy.

Yep… I am one of THOSE people.

I see beauty and blessings everywhere I look.  The mere fact that I woke up this morning and could walk down my stairs to my kitchen to have my first cup of coffee for the day is something to be Thankful for. I can’t help it….. Even on my worst day, I can say…..

Life is GOOD!

Life is not perfect.  I sometimes deal with a lot of junk, and it is hard to have a gracious and thankful heart, but then I look at all I have been given and I then realize…. how can I NOT be Thankful?

Thankful for family that loves me no matter my faults or failures. Some are not family by blood, but by heart. Some have moved on, but the legacy they left remains forever. We have weird traditions, like reading recipe books to each other for fun, that no one gets but us, and that’s ok.

Thankful that I have a job that provides for my needs. It may not be the path I sat out on, but it just perfect for me, and I love the crazy characters I work with.

Thankful that I live in a Country where I am free, I can speak my mind, Come and go as I please,  and I have a say in who governs me and makes decisions on my behalf. My Country is far from perfect, but we are blessed nation.

Thankful that I have a home. It is not fancy, but it provides me shelter and a safe place to lay my head.

Thankful that I live in the most beautiful place.  No matter the direction I look in I see the mountains, and I can go play in them whenever I want. Lakes, rivers, and creeks flow free and help to remind me just how great and Mighty my God is. He has provided me with the perfect playground, and there is no where else I would rather live.

      

Thankful for friends who get my sense of humor and are just as warped as I am. They are adventourous, and never bat an eye when I have a crazy idea. They just say, “Cool! Let’s do it!” My life would be so dull without them. They rejoice with me for my successes, and cry with me and pick me up when I fall.  I am never alone and there is ALWAYS new adventures to seek.

Thankful for a mother who has put me and my sister first… always. She is our rock, and has taught us more then she will ever know.

Thankful for my fur baby Ellie, who is my faithful companion. Words will NEVER describe the love between us.  She feels every emotion with me, and is forever there with a wet nose and a soft paw. When I am feeling down, she makes me laugh. When I am sick, she is my nurse maid, never leaving my side.  She is God’s angel on this earth and I will FOREVER be in her debt, for the love and light she brings.

Thankful that I have a wonderful fellow Dog Mom in my buddy Lauren.  She loves my Ellie as much as I do and spoils her even more!  She is always there when Ellie and I need her. She is the most awesome of friends, who makes you feel like you are extra special. She remembers birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, and any other important day. SUPER WOMAN she is!   We aren’t together often enough, but when we are time is forgotten and laughs are shared.

And I am Thankful for a God who loved me so much that He sent His Son to this earth to die for ME.  I know that EVERYTHING I have comes from Him and Him alone. If all the above was taken from me today, I still have this promise:

For I am convinced [and continue to be convinced—beyond any doubt] that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present and threatening, nor things to come, nor powers,  nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the [unlimited] love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

                                                            Romans 8:38-39

So friend, I pray that this Thanksgiving you will count your blessings, not your holiday checklist. Spend time with those who you love and who are important.  Eat some turkey, laugh, cry, and be reminded…that no matter your life circumstance…. you ARE blessed.

2 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. This was beautifully said! It’s a wonderful reminder to take time and reflect on all of the amazing ways God has blessed us. I’m so happy and thankful to have met you guys and to be able to call you friends — my life has been so enriched as a result!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

