Belive Me, I Know What I’m Talking About

Sink or Swim

Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school. What was the outcome?

Child’s play!

As I walked back to the library and forced myself to endure the other two rounds, that were just as brutal, I realized that I would live. After lunch I went to the designated spot to see who had made it to the final round.  While I had survived, I had no expectations of breaking into the final round. Imagine my shock when right there printed on the finals sheet was my name and number. They wanted me to compete for the win!

I went on to compete in the final round and ended up winning 5th place that day.  Not too shabby.

As the years progressed I won several tournaments, and in college I was State Champ two years in a row.

The moral of this story is: When you are put in a position of having to sink or swim. Don’t go limp. Move those arms and legs, and take a chance that you’ll make it to shore.

Also it is 25 years later and I STILL have NO clue what I am talking about half the time, but you’ll never know it.  I’m just that good.

I will leave you with this small gem.  My sister Sarah and I showing off our Forensics winnings after a tournament in 1993.  Yeah.  We’re STILL cool.

 

a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sink-or-swim/”>Sink or Swim

One thought on “Belive Me, I Know What I’m Talking About

Leave a Reply

