Miss All Knowing

Now You See Me

You have a secret superpower: the ability to appear and disappear at will. When and where will you use this new superpower? Tell us a story.

 

I had to smile when I saw the prompt for the day.  While I know it is written in fun and wants us, the writer, to stretch their imaginations, I could not help but share a real life account of this superpower displayed.

Yes, while I may not possess this power myself I know one who does: My mother, or as I call her Miss All Knowing, MAK for short.

I am not quiet sure exactly when I noticed my mother had this superpower, but I can’t ever remember not knowing she had it either.  For each of my 41 years my mother has been Super natural in EVERY way.

At a young age, my mother made it clear to my sister and I that she was EVERYWHERE and knew EVERYTHING. There was nothing we could do that my mother did not somehow know about.

The first time I got in trouble in school and had to have a paddling, my mother was there to follow up with an additional paddling just to re-enforce the point.

When I was involved in my first wreck, my mother magically appeared before any rescue authorities showed up. Seriously, I looked up and she was there.

At the age of 16 I spent the night at a friends house without any parental supervision, a big No No in my family. That evening who magically showed up to let me know she knew of my deceit? None other then MAK herself.

Growing up I did not always look at my mother’s power as a blessing. Those times I schemed and planned to do something without her knowledge, and I was just on the verge of success. POOF! Magically MAK would appear making her presence and my discretion known to all.

However, this undeniable super power my mother still possesses, was and is ALWAYS used in love. There has never been a tear shed, that she was not there to wipe. Never a victory won, she was not there to celebrate. A defeat she was not there to comfort. She has been and continues to be powerful and constant, sometimes showing up before I even know I need her.

My mother has never publically admitted she is a super hero, but I do believe her history and actions speak for themselves. She is humble, yet commanding, Gentle, yet powerful. Meek, but fierce. Silent, yet bold.  She may not wear a cape, change clothes in a phone booth, or have a magic headband and bracelet, but she IS the real deal.

So dear reader, as you can see this topic is really not that far fetched. The idea of someone having the ability to appear and disappear at will has been a part of my life for 40 years.  While it may not be displayed in worldly grandeur and pageantry, it is just as powerful and real.

Sometimes we don’t have to look deep into our imaginations for greatness or wonder. Sometimes you just need to look within your own reality.
a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/now-you-see-me/”>Now You See Me

3 thoughts on “Miss All Knowing

Leave a Reply

