Perfect Love

Daily Prompt
Reason to Believe

In Reason to Believe, Bruce Springsteen sings, “At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe.” What’s your reason to believe?

Oh the thrill this very question gives me!  In the past two years I have lived this question daily.  Throughout my journey I have come to find the answer to this question. It is not fancy, and certainly not very educated, but it is true and I feel it with every fiber of my being.

The reason I believe is because I am loved.

If you know me, you might understand that statement.  I am not an easy person to love. I am selfish, obnoxious, bossy, moody, emotional, and have I said selfish yet?  That alone deserves two spots in my list of character traits. 🙂

However, as difficult as I am to love, I have never NOT felt it’s presence.  Undeserving as I am, I have never been without love.

My family and friends love me despite my many failures and emotional outbursts.  They have seen me at my worst, yet they show me more and more love each time I fail. It may be through gritted teeth and a forced smile, but I have never once been abandoned, even when I deserve it.

The greatest love comes from my God. The creator of the Universe knows MY name. He concerns Himself with ME.  I have probably been the biggest disappointment to Him, yet, I have never once been cast from His presence. When He looks at me, it is with tenderness and compassion. I know I have caused Him great pain, and tremendous heartbreak over the many years, yet he continues to pour into me blessings daily.

So I believe. I believe in love. I believe in compassion. I believe that the God of Jacob, Isaac, Moses, and Noah is the same God who loves me and works for me.

Is life perfect? Far from it. Is it easy to believe? Not always, but it is  easier for me to believe then not believe.

As I look back over my life, I can see the evidence of His great and perfect love. His love NEVER fails, and He NEVER gives up on me. So therefore, I will NEVER give up on Him.

2 thoughts on “Perfect Love

Leave a Reply

