Tomorrow is Always Fresh

Daily Prompt

Quote Me
Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

 

 “Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it yet.”

Those simple and beautiful words were spoken by the individual who has been my obsession, and my heroine since the age of 10, Anne Shirley.

If you are not familiar with Anne Shirley, let me enlighten you.

Anne Shirley is the beloved, outspoken, always in trouble, but totally loveable redhead  from Lucy Maud Montgomery’s award winning book series, Anne of Green Gables.  Written in 1908 and set in Canadian Prince Edward Island, Anne of Green Gables is a story about a young orphan girl who is adopted and brought to live on the Island at the age of 12.

Every thing about Anne’s life is tragic. Orphaned at birth, she has spent her first 12 years living in families that want her for nothing more then free child labor. She is usually farmed out to families with several children, whom she is then forced to take care of. She is abused and mistreated and has a hard time controlling her fiery redhead temper.

Finally, she is adopted by the Cuthberts, a brother and sister, who are elderly and need help running their family farm, Green Gables.  Poor Anne is devastated, when upon her arrival, she finds the Cuthberts had wanted a boy instead.

Of course, they decide to keep her and life changes for the better. No longer is she cast aside as an orphan, but she is welcomed into a family that loves her deeply.  While hesitant at first, even the no nonsense Marilla comes to realize Anne is a gift sent from God himself.

While Anne’s life changed for the better once she comes to Green Gables, she still has her share of trouble.  She has the uncanny ability to both charm and annoy every person she meets. She is falsely accused of a few petty allegations, gets herself caught up in some foolish schemes, and at times lets her temper get the better of her.

During one particular trial she endures, she makes the statement, “Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it yet.” How absolutely delicious that sounds! Anne knew that no matter what today threw at her, tomorrow was a whole new beginning, clean of any mistakes or hiccups.  She is determined to not let her mistakes or her past to decide her outcome.

That statement has become my mantra.  I have it printed everywhere: my desk at work, my refrigerator, my bathroom mirror, my bedroom mirror, my bible, and even in my car. No matter how many times I mess up today or how ugly and nasty things might be, I don’t lay down in defeat. Tomorrow morning is a whole new start. A new opportunity for me to be just a little better then I am today.   Isn’t that wonderful?  I don’t have to dwell on what has been, but I look ahead at what CAN be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

