Cup of Ambition

Daily Prompt
Just Another Day

Our days our organized around numerous small actions we repeat over and over. What’s your favorite daily ritual?

My day starts off chaotic and wild. I am an early riser, but just because I rise, doesn’t mean I shine. I usually wake up moody and angry at myself for not sleeping in later.  I just can’t do it.  Darn my lack of laziness!  Even on my days off I am up before the crack of dawn.

There is only one daily ritual that makes me happy. Only one thing that makes getting up before the chickens  totally worth it.

Glorious, dark, steaming hot, liquid sunshine……

 

I admit it… I am in a committed relationship with coffee.  For 20 years it has been the BEST part of my day.  When my eyes open in the morning, coffee is my first thought. Nothing can make me sprint downstairs in Olympic record time, then smelling my coffee already brewing.

I pour the first cup, shaking in my giddiness. I know that in just a few short seconds I will feel the warmth flowing through my veins.  Ahhhhh…..the first sip…. as I drink it, it is like I am sitting in its warmth.

Not long, it happens.  THAT feeling. You coffee lovers know what it is I am talking about…. that feeling that ain’t nothing going to get in your way today! You could wrestle a lion if you needed to.  Am I the ONLY one who gets that feeling? Anyone?

After that first cup, I sit and ponder the day ahead.  I know I have a lot to do, and even more junk will be tossed my way, but now I have the strength to get up and get ready.  I smile and think

 

Now I can get ready to rope up whatever comes my way!

 

4 thoughts on “Cup of Ambition

    • My favorite cup is one my mother gave me from Paula Deen’s store in Pigeon Forge. It has a big sunflower on it and it says, “Sunshine In A Cup Y’all!” That is how I feel about coffee! It is sunshine!!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

