The Ultimate Field Trip

Daily Prompt
A Bird, a Plane, You!

A Bird, a Plane, You!

You get to choose one superpower. Pick one of these, and explain your choice:

  • the ability to speak and understand any language
  • the ability to travel through time
  • the ability to make any two people agree with each other

I am just going to admit it.  I am a nerd. It’s ok. You can laugh.  It is not something I am ashamed of.  I am totally comfortable being my nerdy self.  I think it makes me adorable.

Nothing catches my attention like a good documentary, or in-depth analysis of an event that already occurred. History is just my thing.  My couch, a bowl of popcorn, and an American Experience  marathon on PBS is my idea of a wild Friday night.  It is just what I do.

So given my status as a first rate history nerd, I would have to go with time travel.

Not the kind of time travel where you go back and you attempt to change anything, but where I would just want to witness some of the major events that have transpired across the many years.

First I would travel back to 1533 England, and pay a visit to King Henry VIII and his then Queen, Anne Boleyn.

There is no denying this dude was crazy insane, but I find him so fascinating. He was a complete fruit loop, but the ladies found him charming and thought him a real catch. Pretty sure Anne re-thought that once she got locked in the tower.  I am not a fan of gore and blood, so I would probably need to morph before Anne lost her head.

My next stop would be the White House in the 1940’s and maybe share a cup of tea with Theodore and Eleanor Roosevelt.

The Roosevelt family has long been an obsession of mine. Both Theodore and Eleanor were strong forces on their own.  I would love to witness them interact with one another in a casual setting. Perhaps FDR can spill his secrets on Churchill, and give me a rare  glimpse into his frame of mind as our country entered our second World War. Eleanor and I could stroll through the rose garden chatting like old friends as the day lazily stretches before us.

Finally, I would need to be in Memphis in the early 1970’s.  Graceland would be my destination where I would perhaps hang out with Elvis and the Memphis Mafia.

I’ve written before about my passion for the King. I was just 2 years old when he passed, but I have read about and studied him my whole life.  Perhaps we would shoot some pool for a while, and then take a stroll around the gardens.  We would talk about how he still loves Pricilla, and wishes he could get free of the Colonel.  Before I left, we would scamper to the kitchen for a Peanut butter and banana sandwich.

There are so many more place I would love to see and hundreds of interesting men and women who have long been gone from this world.  I decided to not bore you and just give you the highlights.  What fun it would be to actually live history at my whim, instead of having to read about it!

Wonder what Marty and the Professor are doing tomorrow?

 

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Field Trip

Leave a Reply

