To Tell You My Story Is To Tell Of Him

Daily Prompt
This Is Your Song

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

We all have a story to tell.  Whether good, or bad, no one is without their own story. One of my favorite bands, Big Daddy Weave, has a song, My Story, which has become my life song in the past year.

My story contains drama, mystery, tragedy, and a lot of comedy.  There are a few dull spots, and quiet a few character changes, but throughout the whole story there has been one constant…. HIM.

Let me take just a minute and tell you about Him.  He has been with me through each and every chapter of my story. When I experienced victory, it has always been because of Him. When I have gone through my darkest days, He had held my hand and walked with me. The times I couldn’t find a friendly face, He never left my side. On the days I thought life was too hard, and I couldn’t face another day, He gave me His strength to get through. You could say, I am pretty attached to Him.

Long before I was born, He knew all about me, right down to the number of hairs on my head.  Before I even took my first breath, He had already proven His perfect unfailing love for me, by giving His life for me in the ultimate sacrifice.

I haven’t always been kind to Him, and sadly there have been times I have denied I even knew who He was.  There have been periods where I have cried out to Him in anger and bitterness. I have questioned why He kept from things I wanted so desperately. Many times, I have brought Him shame and caused Him great pain. But through it all He has never once left my side. When I am nasty and vile, He loves me still. He waits patiently, because He knows I can’t live without Him.

“If I told you my story
You would hear Hope that wouldn’t let go
And if I told you my story
You would hear Love that never gave up
And if I told you my story
You would hear Life, but it wasn’t mine

If I should speak then let it be
Of grace that is greater than all my sin
Of when justice was served and where mercy wins
Of the kindness of Jesus that draws me in
Oh to tell you my story is to tell of Him.”

I can’t begin to speak of me, without telling of Jesus. He is my everything.  As I look back over my 41 years on this life, His fingerprints are everywhere. He gave EVERYTHING for me, how could I NOT speak of Him. Without Him, there is no Me.

I know many shake their heads in confusion or disbelief. I have been called lots of things in my life. And that’s ok. Because no matter how the world speaks of me or what it may call me, the only thing that matters is that He calls me HIS.

MY STORY- Big Daddy Weave

FYI…this link may need to open in a new window.  🙂

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “To Tell You My Story Is To Tell Of Him

  1. Jess – this post is so beautiful that it has brought tears to my eyes. I am so thankful for God’s grace in my life too. I too see his hand of providence throughout my life. I know me, so to have the love of God in spite of who I am, makes me most humbled, grateful. I am glad we have connected.

    By the way, I am a rather new blogger and noticed that you have been able to place your Daily Prompts in a separate tab. I tried it, but they still show with my regular blogs which I don’t want. Do you know of a way to keep them separate?

    Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!!!! I can’t begin to talk about me , without talking about my Great Big God!

      As for the separate tab, when I am writing or editing a post, on the left side it says Catagories and Tags click on that you can add your post to a category you create. I created the Daily prompt one.

      Share away!!!!! I LOVE sharing on Facebook!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

