Kindred Spirits

Daily Prompt
Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

Each year since I was 10 years old, I have re-read the same book again at the start of every new year.

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maude Montgomery, is the one book, that as a young girl I could totally identify with.  Anne, like me, is opinionated, stubborn, quick to lose her temper, often speaks before she thinks, and HATES her red hair.

Even though the book was written in 1908 the struggles that Anne deals with are timeless. She struggles with self doubt, her desire to do the right thing, and the desire to always get the last word.

Just like Anne, I have struggled with these same issue.  I always second guess myself, my temper and the words that come out of my mouth often get the better of me, and I have ALWAYS hated my red hair.  Of course unlike Anne, I didn’t buy some cheap hair dye from a peddler that turned my hair green.  🙂

Even though I have read the same copy of this book each year for the past 30 years, I still find something new and interesting about Anne each time I read it. I long to travel to Prince Edward Island and see first hand the seaside of Anne’s beloved Canadian home. Even as a grown woman, the book still speaks volumes. The whole series follows Anne’s life into adulthood, where she deals with everyday adult issues that I am now going through.

My copy is frail, and showing signs of age, but for being over 30 years old, it is still holding up pretty well. I just can’t bare to part with it or buy a new copy. In a sense, I have feel like Anne is an old friend and we grew up together. Each time I re-read the book, I feel like we are reminiscing over old times.  That is part of Anne Shirley’s charm, she pulls you in and makes you feel like a Kindred Spirit.

2 thoughts on “Kindred Spirits

  1. I love Anne if Green Gables too-read the series of books and watched the movie numerous times. I love red hair and tried several times to dye mine red, but ended up with copper penny and fire engine red. I love red heads so much, my children have been known to walk up to strangers who have red-headed children, and let them know I would love to have a red-headed child. This tends to have me feeling like a pervert.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is funny! Until recently I have always HATED my red hair. It always made me noticeable. I know that sounds silly, since you and I both know I am not shy. However, I was the only one with red hair in my class. I was always known as the red headed kid and not just me. However, I have grown to love my red hair and the uniqueness it brings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

