The Other Side of the Hill

Daily Prompt

The Stat Connection

Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.

While I am not big on stats, I was quite interested in seeing the connection between my most popular posts.  My findings were not surprising at all. We as writers tend to write what we feel and what we are experiencing at this moment, and right now my thoughts are in one place.

The Appalachian Trail.

A Dream Deferred

Conquering Mountains

Someday

The three above post all somehow deal with my obsession of hiking and the Appalachian Trail.

For as long as I can remember, I have been fascinated with this 2,168 mile trail that spans through 14 States. It begins atop Springer Mountain in Georgia, and ends on Mt. Katahdin in Maine.  Living in the Smoky Mountains most of my life,  I have seen my share of Thru- hikers as they make their trek up toward Maine each year. I have enjoyed their stories and the camaraderie they share.  Of course I have always told myself I couldn’t possibly do that.  I’m too weak, and who can afford to spend 5-6 months in the woods?

Then I heard about Emma Gatewood. Grandma Gatewood, as she is affectionately known, walked the entire AT not once, not twice, but three times.  Her first time being when she was 67 years old.  Pretty remarkable. She didn’t let her age or the fact she was a woman hinder her at all.

My sophomore year of college I got to meet Bill Irwin.  If you don’t know who he is, Google him now.  Go ahead.  I’ll wait…………

Did you do it?

Bill Irwin completed a thru hike of all 2,168 miles of the Appalachian Trail in 1990 with his seeing eye dog Orient.  Oh, did I not tell you, He was completely blind?  If he could do it, why can’t I?

On my 40th birthday I sat and reflected over my life and what I have accomplished. While not a flop, I haven’t really accomplished anything larger then me, or that pushed me beyond what I BELIEVED I could do.  I want to look back and say, “OMG! I  REALLY DID THAT!”

The trail became my obsession. I read about it all the time. I talked about it all the time. And looking through my Blog posts, I wrote about it all the time as well.

Oddly enough I didn’t even realize how many of my Blog posts revolved around my AT obsession. What I did discover through my writing though, was that no amount of blogging or writing was going to satisfy my hunger for hiking the Appalachian Trail. No, I am just going to have to do it.  So in March of 2018 that is exactly what I plan on doing. I will begin from Springer Mountain in Georgia and finish hopefully on top of Mt. Katahdin in Maine.

The next two years are going to be busy with getting my finances, my gear, and my body in order to make this hike. While it seems so far away, it will be here before I know it, and I cannot wait!

While I plan on blogging still on this site, the hiking community also has their own blogging system and the majority of my adventure will be there. You can follow at the link below:

My Trail Journal

Many have asked me why I want to spend 5-6 months of my life, carrying my belonging on my back, climbing mountains, and sleeping in my tent each night. My answer is the same one Grandma Gatewood gave:

Leave a Reply

