Better Left UNSaid

Daily Prompt
Drawing a Blank

When was the last time your walked away from a discussion, only to think of The Perfect Comeback hours later? Recreate the scene for us, and use your winning line.

I am not going to lie, when I first saw this prompt, I laughed. You see, I don’t have a problem with not knowing what to say and having a witty comeback. My problem is, I don’t know when to be quiet, and leave things well enough alone.

You may be reading this saying, “Man I wish I had that problem!” No, no you don’t. I have damaged more relationships, and built more walls with my tongue then I care to discuss. It is all apart of my DNA, I just have to have the last word, and all too often, I want to make sure it is a stinging one.

As soon as the zing leaves my mouth I am instantly regretful, even if at the time I feel my words are justified. I see the look of hurt in the person’s eyes, and I immediately feel 2 inches tall, and I am reminded of these words from the Bible:

“For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.” Matthew 12.37

Words are powerful. They can build up, and they can tear down. The desire to always be right, leave with the last word, and get my point across aggressively has been an issue my whole life. However, as I have gotten older, I have come to realize that this is not really that important.

I used to feel power getting in my zing, or my point across with the final word, but I now know it takes far more power, courage, and grace to speak with humble spirit. Easier said then done, friends, easier said then done.

This summer my sister and I had to have some dealings with my father’s other children and current wife has he passed away. Ugly things were spoken about us, posted about us on social media, and whispered through town. Of course I was ready to go to battle, defend mine and my sister’s honor! Then Sarah, who suffers from the same issue as I do (imagine those sibling arguments growing up!) sent me the picture below one night:

Those words pierced me like a knife. How true! Sometimes the most effective message I can send is my silence. I want to strive hard to make sure the words I use are not meant to tear down, but to build up. Getting in the final word, or winning the argument is not important. I know this is always going to be a struggle, but maybe I can live out this Proverb:

“There is one whose rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise, brings healing.” Proverbs 12:18

Oh that I could chose the path of the wise.

 

8 thoughts on “Better Left UNSaid

  1. You said it well, Jess. I mentioned that I am in the book of James and I read a couple of days ago that the tongue is hard to tame, and yes, can cause great damage. Wise is the person who can bridle his. God will continue to work out in us those things he needs us to put away. Bless you for sharing this!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hi Jess, you are so honest! You also understand yourself very well, which is 3/4 of the battle. Some people are so blind to their behaviour that improving themselves is an impossibility. I also have a little hunch here, that you are no way near as bad as you perceive yourself to be. I enjoyed your post, Warmly Nicole

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

