Well, Ain’t I Something!

Daily Prompt
Toot Your Horn

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

Life is hard. At times it can down right brutal. There are days when I would rather not even stick my head out the front door. However, I wake up, pour my cup of coffee, get myself ready for the day, look in the mirror, and repeat the statement below before walking out the door:

Now it is not said in a conceited or vain way. If you know me at all, you know nothing could be further from the truth. It is stated as more of a game day pump up. Imagine the Rocky theme playing in the background as I say it to myself each morning. (Not that I have ever done that or anything…….) I gotta be ready for whatever comes my way, so I better pump myself up!

If there is one trait I have that I value the most, it is that I can find the humor in everything….usually at my own expense. Life is WAY too short to be serious all the time. Crap is going to happen to you. You ARE going to do stupid stuff (like getting your hair caught in a comb because you wanted to see how many times you could wind it around it….. just don’t ask.

Or maybe, you see this really cute hair curling idea on Pintrest that is supposed to be fool proof, and make you gorgeous for Easter. However, you ended up looking more like Ronald McDonald.

Perhaps there was the time you were off to a fun outing outdoors, and you can’t find one of the 15 pairs of sunglasses you own, so you have to wear the bug eyed ones like your mom wore in the 70’s

Or your favorite fast food place opens a day early and you get out of your car to take a selfie to remember this special day!

We only have this one life, and I fully believe God did not mean for it to be ho-hum. Things are going to happen to you that sometimes make you wanna scream.  I am a firm believer that there is humor in each and every moment of our lives.  Who wants to go through their day just ho-hum? NOT ME!  I want to laugh, I want to giggle, I want to have fun!

Sure, I have my days that get to me. Who doesn’t, but even on those days, there is joy somewhere.  When I am old and sitting in my nursing home, I want to be the one that causes trouble. The one that won’t settle down. The one who has a life time of memories to look back on, and can laugh at the ones she remembers.

Enjoy life friends! It is going to happen around you whether you get out of bed in the morning or not.  Find happiness in the ordinary, and in doing so, you will find your extraordinary!

Go on… laugh at yourself. Chances are someone already is… why not join in?!

9 thoughts on “Well, Ain’t I Something!

Leave a Reply

