Forever Together

Daily Prompt
Pace Oddity

If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?

The possibilities are endless if I had the power to do such things.

Hurry up paydays. Slow down wrinkles.  Winter would come and go in a blink.

However, there is only once clear cut answer to the posed question. It can be answered with the picture below.

This is my fur baby Ellie. For the past 13 years she has been my constant companion, best friend, entertainer, person trainer, biggest fan, and biggest joy.  If I had the power, I would slow down time, so Ellie and I could experience so much more of this life together.

I was never meant to have a dog. I am lazy, selfish, busy, and did I mention lazy? However, 13 years ago, I got the idea in my head, that I would be a noble human and rescue a shelter dog. If it didn’t work out, I could always pawn it off on one of my animal loving friends.

However, God knew I needed to love something more then myself. The tables were turned that cold day in February when I walked out the shelter with this lump of personality and fur.  See, I was the real one rescued that day.

I am totally unaware of when it happened, but suddenly this sassy bundle of energy and love had weaseled her way into  my bed, my Christmas card pictures, and my heart. I was officially a Dog mom.

It’s funny that what started out as a random, totally bad idea, ended up being my saving grace. Oddly enough, I don’t remember much of life before Ellie. Right from the start it was like she had always been there.

Life with my Ellie has been an adventure. She has the same crazy, fun loving personality that I have, so each day is a total laugh.

She has taught me to live life, and not let it pass me by. Who wants to stay in the house when there is this great big world to go explore?

There is still so much of this world to see and experience, but time is no longer our friend. Ellie is no longer a young pup. She is much slower now, and often likes to nap her days away. I know that she had I have limited time together, and sometimes that thought is more then I can bear.

If time would slow down, and my Ellie could spend another 13 years with me, I’d take it. There is still much to see and do. I know that eventually I am going to have to experience things on my own. That is scary and unimaginable for me. Ellie B has shared so much with me, I can’t imagine continuing on with out her by my side.

I know however, that Ellie will not want me to revert back to the sad individual I was before she came along. I promise her that I will continue living life to the fullest, just like she has.

 

Oh if time could just slow down. But it can’t and it won’t. So Ellie and I will continue to live life to the very fullest TOGETHER while we still can.

 

2 thoughts on “Forever Together

Leave a Reply

