The Lost Art of Conversing

Daily Prompt
Counting Voices

A lively group discussion, an intimate tête-à-tête, an inner monologue — in your view, when it comes to a good conversation, what’s the ideal number of people?

“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.” Albert Einstein

Sometimes I believe that Albert Einstein had a look into the future.  Did he know that someday, the very devices that were created to make life easier and more knowledgeable, would instead make us socially awkward?

I love conversation. I love to converse one on one where you can get really real with people, and I love to converse in a group setting, where I can hear different ideas and views different from my own. There is such power in conversation, but I am afraid it has become a lost art.

As you may know by now, I am a highly extroverted individual.  I LOVE being social. Sometimes, I know people wonder if my mouth has an off switch! While I love to talk, I also love to listen. In having the perfect conversation, you have to know how to do both.  I admit that sometimes though, I am a little like Lucy in the cartoon below.

Sadly though our society is becoming a group of individuals who find conversation awkward, or boring.

REALLY?

Yep?

We are now a society crippled by the very technology we believe makes our lives better.  We text instead of call, Snap Chat instead of chit chat, Tweet instead of talk.

Recently I went to dinner with a friend. While we were totally engrossed in conversation, I looked throughout the restaurant and saw couples sitting in silence as they were fixated on their mobile devices. Children played on iPads, and iPhones instead of being engaged in conversation with their families.

Even our shopping keeps us from being social. No longer do you need to bother speaking with the cashier at the register, you can do all your shopping online and avoid all human contact. And some restaurants have kiosks where you can order your food without having to make eye contact with a human.

Eventually we become so comfortable behind these devices that we come out from behind them, we almost panic. It takes effort to hold a “REAL” conversation.

So let me challenge you.. just for the rest of the day, put down your phone, iPad, tablet, or get your nose out of your computer. Have a REAL conversation with someone. You may be surprised what you’ll find once you bring your eyes up from the screen.

6 thoughts on “The Lost Art of Conversing

  1. This is a true issue, but it’s not solely caused by our electronics. Personally, I’m a severe introvert. I have been since I was a child. We didn’t have distractions like phones or games when I was a kid. I didn’t converse with people because I never felt like they listened or cared and that’s rolled over into my adult life. I lack the skill. I don’t even know WHAT to talk about when I meet someone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG Albert Einstein said that!!! ‘“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”, the man’s more of a genius than I’d been led to believe. Everyday I pass people walking on the street, standing on street corners (there’s a story there!) head bowed staring at a tiny screen in their hand, and you know I’m not writing for affect! I’m gonna remember that quote for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

