Good Father

I firmly believe that blessings are all around us. Not just in the pretty, sunny, warm, everything is flowing peacefully along, days, but also in the dark, dirty, ugly, wet mucky days. They are there… you just have to look a little harder for them.

This week got off to a rough start.

Downton Abbey ended. Peyton Manning retired. And I got a flat.

Don’t you dare judge me. I took the first two reasons particularly hard. It has been an emotional week. However, the weather is finally starting to warm up, and my mood was beginning to lift…

Until last evening.

As I was driving home my new favorite song came on the radio.

You’re a Good, Good Father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are, It’s who you are
And I’m loved by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am, It’s who I am

You’re a Good, Good Father
And I’m loved by you

You are perfect in all of your ways
Perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your ways to us

I absolutely LOVE this song, and was singing at the top of my lungs. Of course my windows were rolled down, but I simply didn’t care.

As I was singing, I started a conversation with God.

“Father, You ARE so good to me.”

“Do you mean that?”

“Of course, don’t be silly!”

“Even when things stink?”

“Yep.”

“Even if I allow bad things to occur. Not even big bad things, but small inconvenient things?”

“A thousand times YES!”

” I hope so.” 

At this point my commute is coming to an end. I pull up my street and as I do, the Tire Pressure light comes on.

WONDERFUL!

Once I exit my car, I hear it immediately.

Air.

GUSHING air.

Coming from MY tire.

CRAP!

Instantly I am angry and irritated. I DON’T have time for a flat.  I DON’T want to spend money on a tire…or two.

WHYYYYYYYY  MEEEEEEEEE?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!

My thoughts went to my bank account, and the money I have saved for hiking gear and my FIRST vacation in 25 years, happening THIS summer.

“I don’t want to pull money from there to buy a new tire!  God that is SO unfair!”

“But didn’t you just finish saying I am good NO MATTER what?”

“Yes, but this is different. I NEED this money! And this really is a huge inconvenience.”

“I understand, but have I not provided the money to cover the expense of a tire?”

“Well, yes, but….. that’s not what that money is for!”

“Again, have I NOT provided the money for you to cover the expense of tire?”

“Yes, but….”

“And didn’t you JUST say I was good, even when the small inconvenient things arise?”

OUCH

And there it was…. the lesson I so desperately needed to learn. I sing and proclaim that God is good, but do I believe it? When life is hard and things don’t go the way I plan or desire is He STILL perfect in His ways?

Absolutely

1 Thessalonians 5:18 tells me:

“Be thankful in ALL circumstances” 

My circumstances do not diminish God’s goodness. He is perfect despite them.

So today I had to spend $200 at the tire shop. My checkbook is a lot lighter and my vacation funds have dwindled some. But I can say,

God is GOOD, and I am THANKFUL.

Thankful for a best friend, who came without hesitation to put my spare on, even though he was busy planning a big presentation.

Thankful that I have a job that provides me the income to help replenish my poor bank account, and allows me the freedom to leave when needed to take care of things.

 

Thankful that I had money to cover not just one new tire, but two, and still have some left over. I paid for two tires what I paid for one the last time. Running my card for that amount sucked, but I am blessed because the funds were there to cover it.

So yes, God is GOOD. He IS perfect in all His ways.

Even in the mundane, inconvenient, everyday life things.

Click  here to hear Good Father by Chris Tomlin

5 thoughts on “Good Father

Leave a Reply

