Today

Daily Prompt
Fleeting

How many times have you said,

“I really want to do that. I’ll get around to it…. Someday.”

We are all guilty of that. We push dreams and desires aside until we can find a better, more convenient time.

Sadly though, Someday never comes.

We get so wrapped up in daily life, that Someday keeps getting pushed further and further away, until one day, Someday is gone.

Last year I turned ..gulp

40

Suddenly I felt like taking inventory of my life and my accomplishments. Had I achieved all those things I set out to do? Had I REALLY accomplished anything at all?

What I found left me sad, and inspired.  There were so many things on my “Bucket list” that were just sitting there on paper….written about, but no action taken in making them become reality.

What was I waiting for????

Life is short, and time is fleeting. Items on my list were not going to get checked off while I was sitting on my couch snacking on my 4th Little Debbie of the day.

TODAY is Someday! Tomorrow is Now! I decided I was no longer putting dreams and desires on hold.  What was I waiting for? Permission? A more convenient time?

I am a grown adult, so I don’t need permission, and there is NEVER going to be a convenient time. I either did it, or I let it go.

Going for my first 100 mile pin was one of the tasks I had put off. I live in the Great Smoky Mountains, and have always loved hiking.  The park service rewards you for miles hiked, and I have always wanted to participate, but put it off, telling myself I would do it when I was in better shape.  Ummm…..What better way to get in shape?!?!?!?

I am currently just a few miles away from my goal of hiking 100 miles in the Smokies.  Now that I have almost accomplished it, I don’t want to stop, so I will continue for my 250 mile pin.

Our time on this earth is tempoary:

“You do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are mist that appears for a little time then vanishes” James 4:14

And I firmly believe God intends for us to live each day to the fullest.

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.”    2 Timothy 1:7

Stop saying Someday and start living TODAY!

Time is fleeting. Don’t let it outrun you.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Today

  1. I like your goal to hike the Smokies. I have had a lot of surgery over the years, I shy away from the uneven earth of the woods. It’s a gift to be able to hike like that ; )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

