Fight Stratagy

 

Today’s Daily Prompt gave us one simple, yet VERY powerful word: Fight

When I first read the word, I sat and stared at it for an eternity. This word used to mean something entirely different to me then what it does now.

I am a redhead, and well….I am your stereo-typical redhead at that. My temper can at times get as red as the very hairs on my head. I may look all cute, sweet, and calm, but I can go from genteel Southern Belle, to your worst nightmare in about 2.5 seconds. NOT my favorite or best quality, but I’m just being honest.

My favorite weapon is my tongue. So often I use my words to attack and cause pain.  Whenever I feel I am being attacked or wronged, I suddenly spew forth in anger and quick witted attacks, ultimately causing pain and bitterness.

Though the years, several relationships have been broken or damaged because of the words I have spoken in haste and anger. However, I never once prayed for God to help control my tongue.  I was JUSTIFIED in my anger. It was ALWAYS the other person’s fault.

Last Fall, I went to the movies alone one Sunday afternoon. Little did I know my life would totally change within 2 hours.  I walked in a bitter, unconcerned, and unrepentant wimp. I walked out broken, humble, and determined to become a warrior.

War Room was supposed to be just another movie, but the impact it has made on my life, and the lives of the millions who have seen it, is tremendous.

I am not going to get into the whole plot of the movie, because if you haven’t seen it, I don’t want to spoil the fun.

The basic premise of the movies is about learning to fight the effective way. The RIGHT way. During any battle of any war, there is always a Battle Plan. A strategy. Troops don’t go into battle without knowing who the enemy/opponent is. There is always a strategy.

If you are going to fight, you need to know WHO you are fighting.

The same can be said in our daily lives. Each and everyday we go into battle. We are fighting our loved ones, our jobs, our circumstances, and sometimes even ourselves. However, what most of us don’t realize is who we are REALLY fighting.

I a FIRM believer in the Bible.  It has stood the test of time, and I personally have seen the evidence of it’s truth played out in my life.  The Bible is very clear on who our enemy is:

“Watch out for your great enemy the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. ” 1 Peter 5:8

“The thief comes to steal, kill and destroy.” John 10:10

Satan’s goal is to steal any hope, happiness, joy, and love we have. He works in ways that deceive us, and pull us into his snares. Our battle is not against each other… our battle is against EVIL.

We are not to fight with our words, swinging hard and punching fast. The true route to victory is on our knees, seeking the One who has already defeated the enemy.

Since seeing War Room, I have changed my Fight strategy. I am praying for those I have conflict with, and I am praying for MY heart to be changed. No longer do I want bitterness or hate to live inside of me. I let God do my fighting for me, not my tongue.

My favorite quote from the movie comes from the spit-fire Mrs. Clara:

“To win the fight, you have to have the right strategy and the right resources, because victories don’t come by accident.”

 

4 thoughts on “Fight Stratagy

Leave a Reply

