Being More Frivilous

I have made the decision to be more Frivolous.

Yep, you read that right. I am going to go nuts with my spending…..

Of my time.

For as long as I can remember, I have been stingy with giving of my time.

It is mine. It is valuable. It is very limited. I just could not justify giving my time on things that didn’t involve… well…..ME.

I am sure I sound like a horrible, selfish, egotistical individual, and you are probably right. The illusion I was living with was that my time was more important then anyone else’s.

So wrong.

This weekend, I lost someone special.  Mrs. Sally was 102 years old. She was one of the spunkiest, kindest, most gentle souls God ever created. Up until 10 years ago, she was still driving her little Civic all through town.

Growing up I was very fortunate to live in a community where several of our neighbors were my grandparents age. My sister and I would spend hours upon hours hanging in their yards, living rooms, or under our big porch. We would listen to stories of their childhood, their experiences, and all their corny jokes.

How RICH we were.

We were taught how to cook, how to sew, how to catch lightin bugs, the value of hard work, the value of family, and how to tell a great story.

Funny how as I got older, my time was spent less and less with these valued neighbors. Friends, hobbies, boyfriends, and other pointless stuff, took up more and more of my time. However, these precious people were always there when needed.

Sadly their numbers are dwindling. Mrs. Sally’s passing only reminds me that we need to spend as much of our time as we can with these treasures. Once they are gone, their stories, legacies, and life lessons, are the only reminders we will have.

Be frivolous with your time friends. Invest it wisely.  Life is too short to be stingy.

Daily Prompt

8 thoughts on “Being More Frivilous

  1. I loved this! Life is way too short. Reading this reminded me of my own great-grandmother. Every time we went to visit with her, Dad had us listen to her life stories. I wish now that I had paid attention when she spoke. I wish now that I had asked my own grandmother about her life. Now, she is gone, too. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

