Still Got Life Left In Me

I have a favorite pair of shoes. They are old, worn, and sometimes smelly… Ok…so they are REALLY smelly.  Fine, I’ll just be honest…. THEY STINK. They probably should be thrown out, but  I can’t bear the thought of getting rid of them. They still have some miles I could put on them. So, every so often I sit them out in the sun, put a couple of dryer sheets in them and Refresh them.

Voila! They are good as new!

Sure, the same crack is in the bottom. Sure, the same faded spot is still there. But they smell better, and I swear they almost smile at me when I put them back on.

Sometimes I feel exactly like those pair of shoes.

Cracked. Faded. Stinky.

Life’s demands are hard. Sometimes just getting up in the morning is too much, and I feel old, useless, and unappreciated. Some who know my past think I am broken, used up, ready to be tossed out.

Just like my old shoes.

But, despite what I think about myself, or what the world thinks of me, I still have a lot of life left in me. Sure…..

I may not be as strong as I was 20 years ago. (ok… so I have always been weak.)
My body may be faded, and bulkier then it used to be. (results of Little Debbie obsession.)
Maybe I need to be in bed by 8pm now days. (so actually I am ready for bed around 7:30)
And, yes, I may not smell as sweet as I once did. (Who the heck does?)

Thankfully, I have a God who looks at me each and everyday, and says,

“I’m not done with you get! Get up! There is still life to live!”

Where others see what used to be, He sees what still can be.

“I will REFRESH the weary, and satisfy the faint.” Jeremiah 31:25

Each morning is a new day. A chance for me to give this life another go. Sure yesterday I may not have preformed like I used to, but today is full of possibilities. As long as I keep getting a new opportunity each day, I am going to take full advantage of it.

Which brings me back to my shoes. Over the long nice weekend, I spruced them up a little, aired them out, removed (some) of the stench, and today, they are performing just like they were new…..

Grateful for new opportunity to be refreshed and given another day!

Daily Prompt

 

2 thoughts on “Still Got Life Left In Me

  1. Run them through the washer in a pillow case?
    “I will REFRESH the weary, and satisfy the faint.” Jeremiah 31:25 < Needed this today. Overtired. Have a good day!
    Laurie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

