Putting The Fun Back In Dysfunctional

Life can sometimes be a mess.  We start out bright eyed and bushy tailed only to be bombarded later with jobs, families, bills, tough decisions, and all the other stuff that makes life just so… blah.

Keeping your sense of humor can be Tricky.  When you are knee deep in stress, it isn’t always easy to laugh.

Or is it?

I am of the firm belief that humor can be found in anything and everything.  You just have to look for it.

Spend any amount of time with me and you are going to see quickly that I am a hot mess. I can get myself into some pretty interesting pickles.   My mouth doesn’t know when to cease working at times, I make quick emotional decisions, but most of the time I just have the uncanny ability to be the creator of my own drama.

Like the time I attempted to do some cute thing with my hair and ended up with this. I actually had to have a neighbor come over and help.

Or the time I went to Biltmore to spend the day in the gardens and it rained…no POURED BUCKETS the whole day. Best time EVER!!!!

Last year I had the chance to go out on the field and meet my FAVOIRITE college Football team. Right when it was our time to go in…. the gates were slammed in our face. Some folks stalked off vowing to never return.  Me?  I took my sad selfie and ended up spending the day with two great friends laughing about how rotten our luck is.

Life is NOT going to go as you planned. You ARE going to trip. You ARE going to have a coffee stain on your shirt. You ARE going to be disappointed.  You ARE going to be denied something you really want. You ARE going to encounter hard stuff that you don’t know if  you can survive. You ARE going to do stupid stuff.

It happens.

That’s life.

How we chose to respond to the crazy dysfunctional stuff makes all the difference.

Me? I chose to laugh at myself, pick myself up, dust myself off and move on.

Life is too short to spend time fretting over “junk”, and I have seen ALOT of junk in my 41 years. But I’m still here. Still embracing every precious second I have.

Learn to laugh at yourself. TRUST me… other people are going to be laughing, so join in.

Daily Prompt

4 thoughts on “Putting The Fun Back In Dysfunctional

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 7 – “The Endless Beauty Of An Authentic Voice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

