You Lost Me At Hello

My face can not tell a lie.

For as long as I can remember, my facial expressions have ALWAYS told how I was feeling. This can be a huge problem when you are trying to conceal your feelings. Don’t get me wrong…. I can’t stand to be Fake, but sometimes I need to spare others from my true emotions.

 

I don’t have a high tolerance for people who like to be seen. You know the person I am talking about….

Always the center of attention.
Louder then everyone else.
Always directs the conversation in an area that is about themselves.
Tells you everything that is wrong with them.
NEVER stops talking.

Got someone in mind?

I attend a monthly book club where I run into this issue EVERY time. Most of the ladies are fun, energetic, exciting, fellow book lovers. However, one of the ladies… well… she just doesn’t mesh with my personality.

 In the 3 months since she has started attending, I have learned about every ailment she has, every crazy member of her family, and about all her sexual fantasies with some character from the Outlander series.

Since she became a member of the group, we have YET to discuss THE BOOK. She totally dominates each and every meeting. Now, I too am a strong personality. I love being the center of attention, and I can talk anyone to boredom, but I know when I need to be quiet. Each and every meeting I sit and I bite my tongue. I wiggle and squirm in my seat. I sigh and I moan. My mother gets a big chuckle because she knows I am a volcano on the verge of eruption.

My face has given me away each and every time. It can’t lie. My best attempts are always failed. No matter how hard I try, my eyes are going to roll, my lips are going to squish together, and I am going to give myself away.

You will always know where you stand with me. I just can’t hide it, it is not possible. While I have somewhat mastered the tongue, I cannot for the life of me master the face. I am destined forever to give myself away.

Perhaps I should start wearing a ski mask to book club……… hmmm…..

Daily Prompt

 

8 thoughts on “You Lost Me At Hello

  1. Perhaps you should speak up and say “can we focus on the BOOK now? We already know everything about YOU”………at least i would but then I am an old fart and can get away with stuff like that. I LOVE being old enough to get away with saying anything I want! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Typically my tongue is out of control. However, over the past year, I have done really good at keeping it reined in. However, I did this past week, I blew my top and made it known unless we were going to actually discuss the book, I would not be in attendance. This lady looked at me like I had spoke French to her. CLEARLY, she is a few fries short of a happy meal. Oh, get this… she hasn’t read ANY of the books! UMM…. WHY ARE YOU EVEN here? There are other meetings where folks get together to socialize. I may end up in jail soon.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 19 – “How To Write A ‘How To’ List” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

