Living Life

I have never been what you would call a Risk taker. In fact, I am pretty much the total opposite.  So a month ago, when I announced to my friend and family that I was going to hike the 3rd highest peak in the Appalachians ALONE, they didn’t really give it much thought.  Truth be told, I am not sure that many of them EVEN heard what I said.

Yep.  I’m that lazy.

My entire life I have always done things “safely”. I always envied those who could go out and pursue life with reckless abandon. They looked fear in the face and laughed.

I was always the one running to opposite direction.  Ya know…..the one….

Why risk it?  Why not just play everything safe?  Risk was too much work… and am I EVEN guaranteed a successful outcome?  Nope…. I’ll just be lazy.

When I turned 40 last year, I did what everyone does on a milestone birthday…..I started taking inventory of my life. What I found left me feeling a little sad and concerned.  While I had accomplished many great things, I had also quit a great many things.

If something was too scary…. I’d quit.
If something was too long……I’d quit.
If something was too hard……I’d quit.

What all had  I missed out on because I was too afraid to put forth a little effort, too lazy to take a risk?

So of course being the dramatic person I am, I decided I would show my newfound Risk Taking side in a grand fashion and do a ULTRA HARD hike… alone.  What could possibly go wrong?!?!?!?!?

No one thought I would follow through, and I’ll just be honest, up until I took my first step on the trail, I wasn’t sure I would either. But I did it.  I succeeded. I liked it. It was hard. It was miserable. It was brutal. It was the most WONDERFUL day of my life.

I felt alive! Free! Capable of achieving anything.

Since then, I have set out to live life fully. No more sitting at home staying safe. Life is too short, and when I come to the end, I refuse to look back in regret.  The word “CAN’T” is no longer in my vocabulary.

So maybe you’re sitting at home and you are like me… scared, frustrated, lazy. You think, “Why try?”  Life is passing you by fast, and you don’t know what to do.

Take a risk. Push those fears aside. Say, “Why NOT?” I promise that if, lazy, under achieving me can do it, you can also!

TRUST ME….. The view from the top is AWESOME!

Discover Challenge

8 thoughts on “Living Life

Leave a Reply

