Called To Love

Why is different scary? When did we stop seeing each other as humans, instead of causes? and why is being Diverse thought of as being disloyal?

There are many days that I turn on my television and I am horrified and stressed out from the images I see and the sound I hear. People through out hateful slurs towards fellow humans. Mud is slung. Communities riot. Lives are shattered. Pride and Arrogance replace Humility and Compassion. We throw around labels such as Bigot, Ignorant, Hater, and Hypocrite.

Different is looked upon as something negative and uninviting.  Thoughts and ideas that are no like ours are dangerous and scary. If you don’t look like me, talk like me, worship like me, or vote like me…..clearly you are here to snatch the very breath I breath.

I hold very strong conservative beliefs… I believe marriage is between one man and one woman, I believe that  God does not make mistakes when He forms us in the womb, so to alter who we are in that way is wrong, and I believe that we are called to love like Christ.

AHHHH.. it’s that last one that often trips folks up. How did Christ love?

Fully and with reckless Abandon.

While Jesus was on the earth He walked with not just those who trusted and believed in Him, but with those who outwardly criticized, ridiculed and scoffed Him. He did not judge, condemn, discriminate. He simply loved.

LOVE…. what a simple yet powerful word. Once it is shown, the effects are boundless. It doesn’t take much, just a little effort is all.

Did you know that you can show love without agreeing? It’s true. You don’t have to hold my beliefs and convictions in order for me to love you. I chose to love you based on who you are… a fellow human on this journey. Whether you believe it or not, God created you for a purpose. You were thought about long before you came to be. He knew that someone needed you. He knew, we needed each other.

We were not placed here to point fingers, condemn, judge, and alienate.  We were placed here to love each other. To hold each other when we are sad. To rejoice in the victories. To provide when we are in need. To be a friend when one can’t be found.

I may not agree with you. I may not like the lifestyle you live. I may not agree with your idea of God.  I may not like who you voted for in the last election. Our skin color might be different. But rest assured that as a fellow human….I will always love you. We are called to LOVE and that is what I intend to do…..

LOVE

Daily Prompt

One thought on “Called To Love

Leave a Reply

