A Lamp, A Lifeboat & A Ladder

As a youngster I always swore I would not be one of THOSE people.

You know the person I am talking about…. the one who gets to milestone birthday and they start taking inventory of their life only to find it void of excitement or
Purpose.

Who am I?
Why am I here?
What have I done with my life?

So annoying.

Then I turned 40.

WHAT????  40 ALREADY??????

Immediately I began to panic. And I found myself doing what I said I would never do…. I became one of THOSE people!!!

Who am I?
Why am I here?
What have I done with my life?

There I was. 40. Single. Starting over with a new career. And wondering what the crap my purpose was.

So naturally I prayed and cried out to God.

What the crap is my purpose????????

Be Still and know that I am God. Psalms 46:10

Ummm…. ok. What does THAT mean?

Trust in me… with all your heart. Don’t depend on your own understanding.  Proverbs 3:5

Still… what does that mean. I’m 40 years old….. I need answers. I ain’t getting any younger!

Trust me and I will make known the path of life. Psalms 16:11

Fine… whatever you say. I still don’t understand.

Seek Me FIRST and all will be revealed to you. Matthew 6:33

So I continued to seek, trust, and wait…….

And I waited…. And waited……. and waited…………………….

As I was seeking, trusting and waiting, I found myself on a journey. Along the way were people.. new people. People I would never have met before or been able to meet if I were not on my journey.  As I met them, I began to develop relationships with them, and even invest myself in them. That was something totally new for me… Miss Selfish.

The past few months I have experienced some incredible highs in my life. Things have been accomplished that I could once only dream about. Trusting God and seeing what He could do through me has been amazing. But…. I still wanted to know what my purpose is.

Hey, I’ve been seeking, trusting, and waiting…. can I know my purpose now.

Surly you know.

Ummm… if I knew I don’t think I would be asking again….. Hello?

You know all those people you have met on your journey?

Yeah…I’ve been meaning to talk to you about that…. that’s been really cool.

Duh, I know it has… well those people are your purpose.

Say what? How are THEY my purpose?

Do you love them?

Very much. They have been such a joy to my life. They have listened to me, I have listened to them, and we have all grown on this journey.

Well, as you kids are saying down there these days….#PURPOSE

??????????

I have said… Above all, Love each other deeply. 1 Peter 4:8

And it was then I knew my purpose. It had been right before me all along, but I had been so consumed with me, me, me, that I was too blind to notice it.

Simply put… I was to love.

Showing love, compassion, encouragement, and inspiring others is what life is all about. We all are ALL on this journey together. Many times in the past few months I have needed a lamp to light a dark path, a lifeboat to save me from the rising waters, and a ladder to help me climb out of the pit of doom I was in.  Each showed up in a person who offered nothing but their love.

And that is exactly what I am called to do. It doesn’t have to be anything grand, or big. It can be as simple as listening and giving a little of myself.  A little bit of love goes a LONG way.

I was making finding my purpose harder then it really was. Finding it was not about me at all, but about others. Loving them.  Deeply.  Finding my chance to be

A Lamp. A Lifeboat. A Ladder.

lll

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Lamp, A Lifeboat & A Ladder

Leave a Reply

