Kid, You’ll Move Mountains

“And will you succeed? Yes, you will, indeed, 98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed. Kid, you’ll move mountains.” Dr. Seuss

Almost 3 months ago I stood at the start of the trail that would take me to the top of one of the most beautiful mountains…anywhere. I stood there excited, anxious, nervous, nauseous, and scared.

“If I turn back now, I can be back home and in my bed by 9am.” I told myself.

“No will ever know.”

I was alone, and feeling foolish for attempting such a massive hike. This was for the ELITE hikers. Not some little, short, chubby wanna be. The voices of the masses were filling my head:

“You are not ready for this kind of hike.”
“You should do some shorter hikes first.”
“A woman should never hike alone…you are being foolish.”
“It will take you all day… hope you have a flashlight.”

As I should before that trail sign…staring at the rocks and dirt that laid before me, I seriously considered turning around. But then,  a familiar poem popped into my head.

You have brains in your head,
You have feet in your shoes
You can steer yourself
Any direction you choose.
You are on your own.
And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one
Who will decide where to go.

After 15 years of teaching 5 year olds it didn’t take me long to know I was quoting Dr. Seuss from Oh The Places You’ll Go! Just proves that you can take the teacher out of the school, but you can never take the school out of the teacher.

I knew what my decision was going to be…..

I was going to climb the mountain.

It was a glorious trip, but it was hard. There were times I wanted to quit, and I am not ashamed to say I sat down and cried a couple of times. The journey was painful, brutal at times, and rocky, but once it was over….

I was still walking on cloud 9.

Since that time, I have climbed up to the mountain 3 more times. Each time, I learn a little something more about myself, and I have come down a little stronger.

Tomorrow I go up for my 4th time in 3 months. Funny, how now I no longer scared, but on edge with excitement. What make this trip even better is that I get to experience my friend Teri’s first time climbing the Mountain  and seeing the vast, rolling hills of green.

 Funny that 3 months ago I was fearful, now I feel fearless. Not fearless in a cocky I know it all way, but fearless in the fact, I know I CAN do it.

Sure, there are going to be many people who pass me heading up tomorrow. You can bet your bottom dollar I am going to take me a couple of rest on the way up as well. But….

I WILL get there.

If hiking has taught me ANYTHING the past 4.5 months it is this….

Fear can keep you from doing some pretty amazing things. We convince ourselves that we are not good enough, strong enough, smart enough, rich enough, pretty enough, physically fit enough, and we give up. We stand at the base of the mountain we want to climb and we debate those voices in our head telling us to turn back. I am sad to say I have let those voices win more times then not.

But don’t listen…

Take some advice from Dr. Seuss.

Oh the places you’ll go!
There is fun to be done!
There are points to be scored.
There are games to be won.
And the magical things you can
do with that ball will make you
the winning-est winner of all!

Your mountain may seem impossible. Perhaps you are standing there right now… looking up at it…wondering How the crap do I get there? But don’t lose heart. You don’t have to be perfect…. you just need to have courage and faith.

Take that first step… take your time…. enjoy the journey! And remember…..

Mountain

Leave a Reply

