Wanderlust

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do, than by they ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” Mark Twain.

Creature of habit.

That is the one phrase that could be used best to describe me.

I LOVE routine….I THRIVE on it.

I awaken at the same time each and every morning. Followed by eating the same breakfast EVERY day. If something throws me off my routine……

I don’t like being out of my comfort area.

However, lately, I have been suffering from an overwhelming feeling of Wanderlust.

All my life I have been contented to stay right here, safe in the confines of my little small town. My city  is not all that large and there really is not all that much to do, but it is home and there is no where I would rather live….but right now that just isn’t enough. I need more. I need some adventure.

There is so much beyond my little neck of the woods. There are people who are not like me. There are sights that I can’t even begin to imagine.

And I WANT to experience them all.

On FOOT!

If there is one thing hiking has taught me in the past 5 months, it is that if you put your mind to it, your feet can take you anywhere. Staying put in my house, on my couch, reading about amazing places is no longer enjoyable to me. I don’t want to READ about them. I want to EXPERIENCE them.

Hiking on a muddy bog trail

 

It is absolutely  breathtaking sometimes to go where no car, or any other motorized vehicle can take you.

Standing on the Cliff Tops of Mt. LeConte

Is it easy to take that first step?

NO!

It’s hard, scary, and unnerving. You are out of your element and can feel like a fish out of water. But don’t worry……

It doesn’t last.

Pretty soon, you find yourself totally enthralled in the journey. You reach your first destination and you realize you are still not satisfied… You NEED MORE!

Standing on top of Purchase Knob

 

You may have to start the journey alone. Don’t panic! You won’t be alone long. You will find others, who, just like you, want to explore and see just as much as you do. Pretty soon, you will be supporting each other and encouraging each other along the way.

Fellow Wanderlust companions that I met on my journey.

 

There is so much out there…waiting to be discovered. There are gorgeous sights to see, and new friends to meet. None of which will be found stuck at home, sitting on your couch. Being in your comfort zone and in the familiar is all fine and good…. but don’t let the fear of the unknown keep you safe in your harbor saying… “What if?”

Go

Dream

Explore

Discover

I promise you…you’ll see better views from out there then you will sitting at home.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/city/”>City</a&gt;

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

