The First Step

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” Lao Tzu

If there is one thing I have learned in my 41 years on this earth, it is that life is a journey. It is going to happen whether we take part in it or not, and we have the decision as to how much of it we want to experience.

For a long time I was contented to just sit back and watch others have their journey. I knew I wanted to experience some awesome adventures like they were, but I didn’t know how. Making excuses seemed to be the only thing I was good at.

I don’t wanna do it alone.
I don’t have enough money.
I am too fat.
I am too slow.
I am too young.
I am too old.
I don’t have enough time.

There were so many places I wanted to see and so many things I wanted to do, but day after day, Year after year, I just kept my rump planted at home.

Watching…..

As the journey went on without me.

“Why can’t anything cool ever happen to me?” I cried out to God one day.

“You can do anything…through me.  I’ll give you strength.” Philippians 4:13

“But, God it is hard…. I just can’t. I’m too weak.”

“Do you not know that I give strength to the weary and increase the power of the weak?” Isaiah 40:29

“But what if I fail?”

“But what if you fly??????”

I knew it was pointless to keep arguing, so I decided to give it a shot. In February I laced up my boots and I took the first step.

How hard could hiking 4 miles be?

REAL HARD

The day I decided to begin, snow and rain had been abundant two days before. I dealt with lots of mud and lots of ice. I wanted to shut down. Could I just not be teleported to the top? That way I could see the view without having to do any work and without killing my self in the process.

But I kept on.  I pushed through. And I made it.

But I wasn’t satisfied. I wanted more.

So the next weekend I did it again…going a little further.

And I STILL wasn’t satisfied.

So… the following weekend…. I went once more….even further still.

I soon began to realize it wasn’t so much about where I was going as much as it was about the PROCESS of getting where I was going.

Each week…the journey got a little harder and demanded a little bit more of me. While it sucked…it was also glorious because I was realizing that all the excuses I had before weren’t really valid anymore.

So there I was…. doing what I always wanted to do. However, the  things that kept me on my couch for so long, laziness and fear, were the very things motivating me to continue the journey. With each and every mile I hiked, each and every stream I crossed, and every mountain I huffed and puffed up, I was slowly saying good-bye to them.

Don’t get me wrong. Going up a solid steep climb for 3-6 miles SUCKS, but I know doing it is important for my journey. Sure the beauty at the top of the mountain or just up the ridge is awesome, but so is knowing I CAN do it with just my two feet and a LOT of prayer on the way.

Looking over the past 6 months I can’t believe where all my feet have taken me. I have seen and done some things I NEVER imagined I would see or do. I know sometimes I talk about it a lot, but my life has literally been TRANSFORMED. No longer am I sitting on the couch, gorging myself on Little Debbies while the journey is happening. Now I am an active participant.

Pictures from my journey the past 6 months

 

All it takes is ONE step. That is all. You don’t have to go alone. If you have 1000 steps to go, take the first in faith and I PROMISE God will take the 9999 for you.

Don’t let the journey pass you by…Take the first step!!!!!

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-journey/”>Journey</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

