Oh,But What If It Does!

I can’t.
That’s too hard!
I’m not strong enough.
I’m not good enough.

Do any of those sound familiar? For the longest times these were the about the only few phrases in my vocabulary. It did not matter the question… these were always my answer. Everything was terrifying to me.

What if I failed?
What if I looked stupid?
What if I got hurt?
What if I couldn’t do it?

What I failed to ask though is, what if Maybe I was wrong and it did work out?

Why is taking a chance so difficult? Why is risk taking so scary?

Because we don’t know what lies on the other side.. and that terrifies us.

But how will we ever know what is on the other side UNLESS we actually just go? Maybe something amazing is waiting. Maybe it is crap…but maybe it is everything we have ever dreamed of.

For the longest time I put off doing what I wanted to do because I was afraid of going alone. Going with someone else always makes the unknown less scary. But sometimes finding the people to do the crazy things you want to do is not always easy..in fact is at times darn near impossible.

While I am an extrovert by nature, I still HATE new beginnings. What if I talk too much? What if I look stupid? What if I show up with chocolate cake stuck in my teeth?  (Hey, it happens!)

But sometimes you have to suck it up, pull up your big girl bloomers and take the first step.

TS Elliot once said,

“Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go.”

If I sit at home waiting for something to happen, something to change, I may miss out on what I was truly meant to do. How will I ever know who strong I am unless I take the first step?

Is it hard?

                        Ya Betcha!

Is it scary?

                       Totally!

But is it worth it?

                       Absolutely!

Maybe…just maybe I need to change my way  of thinking.

What if I succeed?
What if I find out I am strong?
What if I totally rock it?

If there is one thing I have learned over the course of the past year, it is to embrace the fear of the unknown. Playing it safe doesn’t really protect me from anything, it only keeps me from experiencing life fully and freely.

Sure I don’t know what lies ahead, but I do know that I want to live life… even the scary parts. I know it may not all work out, but then….

Oh, but what if it DOES!!!!!

6 thoughts on “Oh,But What If It Does!

  1. Pingback: Nothing Risk Nothing Gained – Bee Organized with Pamela

Leave a Reply

