My Moment

I have heard it said that Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.  Now, I am not going to lie, I always thought my life would END at the end of my comfort zone. I could just picture me taking a leap out of a flying plane, only to hear the pilot say as I made my exit…. “Hey! You forgot the parachute!

Image result for you forgot the parachute gif

I longed for adventure and change, but I could not get past the fear of what MIGHT happen if I opened myself up to it. Seriously…..so much could go wrong. What if I looked stupid? What if I totally botched it? What if I thought I was totally rocking it and I fell flat on my face?

Image result for falling on face gif

That is a pretty boring way to live life friends. My world was completely safe. As long as I kept to the safety plan…all was good. I was living a life totally wrapped in bubble wrap.

Image result for wrapped up in bubble wrap

But what if I was created for something more? What if living out my fears is what I was SUPPOSED to do? What if the only way I would know success was by throwing away the rule book and taking a flying Jump into the unknown? What if…

I TOTALLY DID ROCK IT?????????

I knew there would be no peace until I took the plunge. So I closed my eyes…and said a quick prayer, and jumped full into the uncomfortable.

I would love to tell you it was easy. That when I took the big jump everything fell right into place, and all my fears, worries, anxieties, and doubts floated away. But…that would be lying.

There have been tears, two year old tantrums, huge obstacles, illness, injury, rain, heat, wind,  and more self doubt then I care to admit.  There have been times I have sat down and had shouting matches with God.

“What the crap am I doing?”

“You’re taking a leap of faith.”

“Yeah, well, this sucks.”

“I never said it would be easy….I said you just needed to trust.”

“But I would rather trust you from my couch while I am watching MY 90210 DVDs and eating fudge rounds.”

“Ummm, yeah, that takes ZERO effort or trust you know that right?”

“Maybe”

“Just remember….I will not cause pain without something new to be born. (Isaiah 66:9)”

“Fine….”

So I continue on.

There have been times when I have sailed through and felt totally accomplished when I was done

And other times I felt so broken and beat down I wasn’t sure I could make it to my car.

With each jump I was asked to give just a little bit more, push myself a little bit further. And once again….I would enter into a war of words with the Almighty.

“I can’ do this anymore. I have nothing left to give.”

“Are you sure?”

“Ummm….. I am laying here on the ground like a beached whale…does it look like I am kidding? I am barley going to have enough strength to get up off this ground to get to my car.”

“So see…you still have something.  Give me that too. Remember: The same power that rose Christ from the dead lives in you. Roman’s 8:11”

“You’re always going to trump me aren’t you?

“Yep.”

So I muster up what little strength I have left and I give it. Sometimes I give it gladly and sometimes I give it kicking and screaming, but I give it non the less.

As I look back over the past 6 months since I have decided to jump from my comfortable and boring life into a world of adventure and uncomfortable chaos, one thing has become clear…. In doing so I have lived life. I haven’t been a spectator watching other people, I have been one of the players. Sure I am tired, beat down, and worn, but I am also incredibly blessed and anxious to see what other things I can jump into.

I was created to live life fully, not sit on my couch and watch as it passed me by. Sure, I miss sitting on my sofa watching the Brenda, Dillon, and Kelly drama unfold, and I am sure my stock in Little Debbie has taken a huge loss, but that no longer brings me satisfaction. I was made for something more…. I was made to jump.

Perhaps this is the moment you and I were created for. This life…right now. Push aside the fears and worries and just take a big ole jump!

Image result for bible verses about taking leaps of faith

 

 

Sure you may fall, but you also just might fly!

 

4 thoughts on “My Moment

Leave a Reply

