No One Is Youer Than You

“Today you are you…that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.” Dr. Seuss

How wonderful are those words? I know I have quoted him in a hundred Blog post, but Dr. Seuss is my go to guy when I need a little realistic boost. Maybe it is because my brain is simple, or perhaps he is just really, really wise.

Do you ever just find it hard to be yourself?   Each and every day we are constantly reminded by the world that we aren’t smart enough, pretty enough, thin enough, rich enough, or even loved enough. We are told to act, dress, and think a certain way to meet others standards.

Being an Original is hard work.

In today’s society originals just don’t cut it. Let’s be honest….who doesn’t alter their pictures someway before putting them on Social Media?   Come on… you know you do it. If the world were to see the REAL us….. they may not like what they see. So we filer, alter, cut, paste, and blot ourselves into something that is deemed acceptable.

Isn’t it amazing what you can do with a little filter? No dark circles under the eyes and what a beautiful glow I have!

While I can alter my outside with just the simple touch of finger and a free App, what’s on the inside is still little ole me.

I like living in my leggings.
Sometimes I eat popcorn for dinner.
I am content to read and never watch TV.
I detest rap music.
British Mysteries appeal to me more than 50 Shades Of Gray.
All my clothes come from Goodwill, Thrift stores, or local consignment shops.
I am stuck in the ’90s and love hair bands and 90210.
I always speak before I think…ALWAYS.
I make sure my dog eats and lives better than I do.
I am horrible at being on time….EVER.
I have pretty conservative convictions and beliefs.

These are just a few of things about me that sometimes aren’t socially acceptable to others. For the longest time I did what I could to fit in.  I wanted to be a part of the group….to be one of the gang. Sometimes I ate things I hated, wore clothes that made me uncomfortable, or went along with someone else’s beliefs….by keeping silent about my own.

In essence… I was a fake.

Then it hit me…. very few know the REAL me.

The me who can’t stand Beyonce’ or Amy Shumer.
The me who needs to be alone and quiet sometimes.
The me who depends on her Faith in a real and powerful God to get her through.
The me who likes to have a good cry and throw things about once a week.
The me who hate making decisions….EVER, but also hates others who are always making the decisions. (Go figure!)

If others saw the real me…..what would they think? How would they respond? Would they like me? Would they talk about me behind my back?

Back in high school I competed in Speech and Debate. I totally thrived on having others hang on to my every word. I would spend countless hours compiling books of quotes to use in my speeches because I always thought using the wise words of others gave my speeches that little extra umph! Cleaning out a closet this past weekend, I found one of my old notebooks full of quotes. As I opened it up the first quote I saw was from Ralph Waldo Emerson…..

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”

Light Bulb!

Being who I am is the most important thing I can accomplish. I wasn’t created to be a model, a rich heiress (bummer), or even incredibly smart. But I was created to be me.

Funny
Adorable
Entertaining
Kind
Encouraging
Did I mention adorable? That is my favorite and strongest quality.  🙂

Never forget that you were created to be YOU.

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you. Before you were born, I set you apart.” Jeremiah 1:5

It is ok if I don’t think like everyone else.

It is ok if I don’t look like everyone else.

It is ok if I believe differently than everyone else.

It is ok if I act differently than everyone else.

That makes me….me.

Don’t be an imitation…..Be an Original.

14 thoughts on “No One Is Youer Than You

  1. That was such a cool post I literally admire whatever you wrote. And absolutely believe in being your real self. I really enjoyed reading and knowing the real you. Great quotes I literally feel so good reading your post it is truly amazing. 🙂 I would love for you to drop by my blog and check it out especially these two:
    https://randomthoughtsofmineblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/06/shadow/
    https://randomthoughtsofmineblog.wordpress.com/2016/09/11/when/

    Like

  2. Pingback: What if I don’t know the original me? – Leaking Ink

Leave a Reply

