Tomorrow Is Always Fresh

Weak. Weary. Beaten. Worn. Done.

Those are the words that could adequately describe my body and spirit at the end of each day here lately.

Life consumes me and gets me so bogged down. I find myself worrying over the smallest of details and wasting precious time and energy trying to figure things out.

It is exhausting.

Last evening I was pooped. My foot has reminded me that recovery is in the distance, not just around the corner, the mailbox was full of bills to be paid, and I was fresh out of milk so I couldn’t even eat a comforting bowl of cereal for dinner. All I wanted was my couch, my dog, a cup of tea, and a book.

While I have 1000 books I need to be reading, I picked up a book I have read at least 500 times since I was 10 years old, Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery   I still have the same copy I received when I was 8, and while the years have aged and worn the pages, but each time I pick it up, it feels like reconnecting with an old friend.

Image result for anne of green gables bookInstantly I turned to the page I knew I needed to read.  The page where Anne makes her most famous quote of the whole series…….

“Tomorrow is always fresh….with no mistakes in it yet.”

Doesn’t that just make you excited? Tomorrow is brand new…. fresh…. a new beginning. Today may have been awful and excruciating,  but tomorrow….  tomorrow Promises to bring hope of change.

I am a firm believer that attitude determines 90% of every outcome. If I go into a situation already defeated, with no outlook of hope….disaster is sure to follow. But if I face the difficulty that lays before me with courage, determination, and hope…I have the opportunity to claim victory over my mind.

Some are out there saying, “But you don’t know what I am going through. You have no idea of how hard life is right now.”

You’re right. Maybe I don’t know what you are going through, but I do know what I am going through, and let me just say…. it isn’t always fun.

3 years ago, I left a financially stable job and was comfortable and secure. In a moment of rage and anger I walked away burning ALL bridges behind me. I holed myself up for a year and half….pouting, defeated, and over life. Through my faith and love from family and friends, I pulled myself together.  Each day was difficult. I didn’t know where I was headed or how I was going to support myself, but I BELIEVED that with each new morning…. there was an opportunity somewhere.

I currently work a job making half of what I used to make. There are times I have to decide on groceries and gas for my car. I have given up a lot of things that 3 years ago I thought I would die without. And just last week, I was faced with a serous injury that will hold me back from pursuing my dreams for a while.

But one thing has remained the same through all of dark times….

A new day dawns each and every morning. With it comes the chance that it might be just a little better then the day before.  I have a new shot at life…. free from what happened yesterday or the day before that.  I hold tight to the promise God made in Isaiah 43:19

“Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth, do you not perceive and know it, and will you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and Rivers in the desert.”

Friend, I know that things may not look great right now. There are bills to be paid,  unpleasant tasks to be done, mountains to climb, fires to put out, difficult people to deal with, hard decisions to be made, and all that is before 6pm. But as long as this world keeps on turning… we have a promise for a new day tomorrow.

Don’t give up. Don’t throw your hands up in surrender. This is merely a bump in the road…. a detour on the journey.  Tomorrow you get another shot.

Remember…

“Every sunset brings the promise of a new dawn.” ∼ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Morning dawning right outside my back yard.

3 thoughts on “Tomorrow Is Always Fresh

  1. Keep keeping your head up. Enjoyed how you have reflected on the past and the struggles a lot of people face on a daily basis and how you keep going forward. Also, I really like this quote “Tomorrow is always fresh….with no mistakes in it yet.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

