Home

I am going to make a pretty bold statement and I know that several of you are going to disagree with me…

I live in the most BEAUTIFUL place on earth.

Seriously… I do.

Image result for great smoky mountains national park

Living in the valley nestled right in the middle of the Great Smokey Mountains, and the Mighty Cumberland Mountains. No matter which way I turn…all I see for miles and miles are mountains and rolling hills.

Image result for appalachian mountains

Growing up in Appalachia, nature was my playground. We didn’t have a lot of money, but we were rich in fun and adventure.

There were times I wondered what it would be like to live in a big city with Millions of people bustling around in a hurry, always on the go. How exciting it would be to see the lights, hear the sounds, and experience the fast pace.

It did not take me long, however, to realize that wasn’t any kind of life I wanted to live. You could take the girl out of the mountains, but you sure as heck couldn’t take the mountains out of the girl.

Down here we live by an old Gary Snyder quote…..

“Nature is not a Place to visit…. it is home”

We know that we don’t need anything but the riches of our surroundings to make us truly happy.

When we are tired and weary….there is always somewhere to sit and rest a while. The soothing sound of the water rushing over the rocks lets us forget the chaos and frustrations of the day.  Hear this sound and all the tension releases from inside you.

We don’t need fancy concrete pools full of chemicals and strange smells to do our swimming in,  we just go up the trail a little bit and find the most spacious, deep, cool, refreshing water you’ll ever swim in.

There is no need to go out and spend dollar after dollar on exotic and rich flowers.  Here one simply needs to look out in their backyard, or up the hill a little way.  There are brilliant displays of Mountain Laurel, Rhododendron, and over a 1000 other varieties of wildflowers to make any centerpiece stunning.

Image result for rhododendron tunnel in smoky mountains

In the summer, there is no need to stay inside and watch the Real House Wives on Television… we go outside and sit, sipping fresh lemonade, talking with friends and family and watch as millions of fireflies night up the hazy summer night.

Image result for fireflies smoky mountains

The fall brings color, cooler nights, and bonfires.

Image result for fall pictures smoky mountains

Image result for roasting marshmallows in bonfire pictures

I am so blessed that I live in such a beautiful place that has taught me that the simple things are what makes us rich. Beauty is all around me, and nature provides me with all I need.

I truly am home.

19 thoughts on “Home

      • Mine too. Growing up near the Blue Ridge mountains, I kind of took it for granted and thought myself more of an ocean person, but as I’ve gotten older, my appreciation for the mountains has definitely grown. I wouldn’t trade them for anything now. In fact, anywhere I travel that doesn’t have mountains, I usually remark how flat and boring it is. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I am the same way! I went to the beach for the first time in 25 years this past summer. The first 2 days were great… I loved the ocean and it is absolutely GORGEOUS, but I NEED my mountains. They are literally the air I breathe. I honestly don’t know how people can handle the flatness. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Meh.. it’s so so haha.. Although I do disagree with you – New Zealand is the most beautiful place in the world.. I’m not just saying that, it’s actual true facts 😀 😀
    Seriously though, your photos probably don’t do the place justice .. looks gorgeous 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

