Made To Fly

Through the years there are many things I have longed to be.

Skinny
Rich
Beautiful
An Astronaut
A Ballerina
A Famous Broadway Director
A Brunette

I could go on and on with the list. However, I’ll just leave you with the highlights. 🙂

Each and every one I attempted to accomplish with failing results.

I like to eat….ALOT, so I’ll never be skinny.
I don’t like demanding jobs that force me to work long hours, so I’ll never be rich.
I am adorable…so the beautiful thing I have down.
I hate doing math and science, so NASA won’t offer me any cool jobs.
I hate putting in hours of practice, and I like to eat, so no dancing with Mikhail Baryshnikov.
I’m too scared to change my hair color, so I am stuck with being a Ginger.

Do you see the theme here?

I am lazy.

Each of these things would require me putting forth some kind of effort. In order for me to make the Transformation from who I am to what I would like to be….I would have to work or make a good attempt at it.

While I was busy doing nothing, life was passing me by.  I’d find something I thought I would want to accomplish and give it the good ole college try. However, once I realized that it was going to make me think, sweat, or exert energy…. I bailed. Let me just add…. I always quit in style and with flare. Being the reigning Queen of Excuses, I could convince those around me as well as myself, that my quitting had nothing to do with me.

“I’m not built for this.”
“I’m not smart enough.”
“No one will help me.” (That was my favorite stand by excuse)
“It is just too hard.”
“I’m too busy.” (Total lie… I was just lazy)

The truth was plain and simple….

Image result for quotes about transformation

I wasn’t willing to give up being a caterpillar. Laying around on my couch, cuddled with a box of Little Debbie’s and wearing my yoga pants and sulking was comfortable and took zero energy.  If I wanted to soar through life and experience the wild unknown, going on amazing adventures, testing my strength and abilities……

I had to give up being a caterpillar.

Changing your way of thinking is difficult. When you have told yourself “I can’t” for over 40 years, it isn’t natural to all of a sudden start saying, “Why yes, I can!” It’s almost impossible to do.

But it IS doable.

Not long ago a friend posted this picture on Facebook:

Image result for quotes about transformation

The message resounded with me and lit my spirit to get up and get moving.  NOTHING worth accomplishing is easy. If it’s easy…. it isn’t much of an accomplishment.

Once I realized that quitting every time something was hard, or scary, or frustrating, I found out I AM a strong and determined person, and that being a caterpillar was no longer what I desired.

I was made to fly.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Made To Fly

    • Oh, Thank you! If you read some of my Blog post you will see that this past February I started out to hike 100 miles. I got my 100 miles in about 2 months and have since hiked almost 500. 🙂 You can do a lot when you get off the couch!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Little Miss Sunshine – Unfolding From the Fog

  2. You’ve done it again, Jess! So love this… and how many of us can relate to the stagnant just because it’s comfortable? You soar, and you’re taking us with you! I always find a nugget of hope when I stop by – your place is just brimming with hope and wonder. Thank you!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

